A correct way to delete your Gmail account

  1. Click the round icon of your account at the top right.
  2. Click Manage your Google Account.
    Gmail - 'Manage your Google Account' button
  3. On the account settings page, click Data & personalization in the left menu (or Manage your data & personalization in the Privacy & personalization section).
  4. On the new page, scroll down to Download, delete or make a plan for your data and click Delete a service or your account.
    Google - 'Delete a service or your account' button
  5. Click the Delete your account button.
    Google - delete account button
  6. You will be redirected to the login page to make sure that it is you, the account owner. Enter your Gmail password and click Next.
  7. You may be asked to verify your password by typing the code from the text message you received on the phone connected to the email account (or a code to your Google Auth app).
  8. Once you have passed the check, you will be redirected to the delete account page. If you would like to save the data from your account, click download your data and save the necessary data to your disk.
  9. Scroll down and tick two checkboxes:
    Google - delete account confirmation
  10. Press the DELETE ACCOUNT button.

Before you delete an account, think about whether your email account, Netflix, Steam, and other services are connected to your email. Restoring access to services after deleting an email is a very hectic task.
So if you have realized that you don't need the email, we strongly recommend you double-check everything, not to use it for a while, and then remove it.


Read more:

  1. Delete your Google Account (original howto by Google)

Have questions? Contact us: [email protected]

Terms of Service    Privacy policy    Contact us   

Made with favorite in Arlington, VA